Active Citizens Fund

Τhe Active Citizens Fund in Greece is supported through a € 12m grant from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway as part of the EEA Grants 2014 – 2021. The program aims to develop the sustainability and capacity of the civil society sector in Greece, and to strengthen its role in promoting and safeguarding democratic procedures, active citizenship and human rights.

The Fund Operator for the Active Citizens Fund in Greece is Bodossaki Foundation in consortium with SolidarityNow.

The overall objective of Active Citizens Fund is the strengthening of civil society and active citizenship and the empowerment of vulnerable groups and it is based on the common values of respect of human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and the respect for human rights including rights of persons belonging to minorities.

In particular, Active Citizens Fund in Greece aims to achieve the following outcomes, through six open calls for project proposals:

1. Vulnerable groups empowered
2. Strengthened civil society watchdog and advocacy role
3. Increased citizen participation in civic activities
4. Increased support for human rights
5. Gender equality promoted and gender-based violence combatted
6. Platforms and networks among CSOs developed

A Bilateral Fund is reserved for initiatives aiming to strengthen bilateral relations between NGOs established in Greece and entities in the Donor states.

Capacity Building activities, aiming to strengthen the organizational and operational capacity of NGOs which will act as project promoters of the Active Citizens Fund in Greece, as well as the capacity and sustainability of the sector in Greece, are scheduled throughout the duration of the programme.

The programme’s launch event will take place in Athens on February 21st, 2019.

A roadshow across the country will follow, with visits currently scheduled in Thessaloniki, Drama, Patra and Heraklion.

About EEA Grants

The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. The EEA Grants are available to the 13 EU member countries that joined the EU and the European Economic Area (EEA) in 2004, 2007 and 2013 as well as Greece and Portugal.

The decision-making body of the EEA Grants is the Financial Mechanism Committee, which is composed of representatives of the Foreign Ministries of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

More about the EEA Grants here

More info about the program Active Citizens Fund, here